Baroness Meacher (Co-Chair)

Baroness Meacher was educated at the Berkhamsted School for Girls, the University of York, and the University of London. Baroness Meacher has held a number of senior management roles, and worked as a senior adviser to the Russian Government on employment in the 1990s. She has been the author and editor of books on mental health and poverty. She has served as deputy chair of the Police Complaints Authority and Chair of the Security Industry Authority. She was Chair of the East London NHS Foundation Trust until 2012. On 2 May 2006, she was made a life peer, of Spitalfields, and sits as a crossbencher.

Caroline Lucas MP         
Caroline Lucas MP (Co-Chair)

Caroline was elected as Green Party MP for the seat of Brighton Pavilion in 2010. Her political interests include drugs and alcohol gender, animal   welfare, poverty, environment, energy and the economy. She is also a Co-Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Group on Fuel Poverty and Energy Efficiency, and Vice Chair of the Public and Commercial Services, Sustainable Housing, Animal Welfare, and CND All Party Parliamentary Groups. She is also a member of various other all-party groups, including on HIV and Aids, 6th Form Colleges, Children and International Corporate Responsibility.


Jeff Smith MP (Vice-Chair)

Jeff Smith has been MP for Withington since 2015. He is an opposition whip and a member of the Environmental Audit Committee. He was previously Executive Member for finance on Manchester City Council.


Paul Flynn MP (Vice-Chair)

Paul Flynn was educated at St. Illtyd's College, Cardiff, and at the University College, Cardiff. He has worked as a chemist in the steel industry, as a broadcaster on Gwent Community Radio. He was elected as MP for Newport West in 1987. He has been shadow spokesperson for Health and Social Security is a member of the Public Administration Select Committee. His political interests include health and medicinal and illegal drugs.

Ronnie Cowan MP (Vic)e-Chair

Ronnie Cowan is the Member of Parliament for Inverclyde having retained the seat at the 2017 General Election. He is a member of the Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs (PACAC) Select Committee; Transport Select Committee and Procedures Select Committee. 
Ronnie is originally from Greenock and after leaving school he got a job as a trainee computer operator at Playtex in Port Glasgow, and went on to build a career in IT, latterly running his own company which focussed on finding IT solutions to business problems. 

Lord Howarth (Vice-Chair and Treasurer)

Lord Alan Howarth of Newport gained his BA in History at Kings College, Cambridge in 1965. During his time as the Member of Parliament for Stratford-upon-Avon from 1983 to 1997, and Newport East from 1997 to 2005, he was appointed Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Education and Minister for Arts. He was awarded a life peerage on 13th May 2005.

The Lord Norton of Louth

Lord Norton (Vice-Chair)

Lord Philip Norton was raised to the peerage in 1998. He is Professor of Government in the Department of Politics and International Studies at the University of Hull. He has been a member of the Hansard Society advisory council since 1997 and is a fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. Hes is a regular contributor to Lords of the Blog, a collaborative blog by members of the House of Lords for the purposes of public engagement.

Members of the APPG on Drug Policy Reform

Baroness Afshar
Baroness Armstrong
Baroness Bakewell
Baroness Blackstone
Baroness Butlersloss
Baroness Eaton
Baroness Falkner
Baroness Finlay
Baroness Greengross
Baroness Hamwee
Baroness Jay
Baroness Kennedy
Baroness Kinnock
Baroness Lane-Fox
Baroness Lister
Baroness Mallalieu
Baroness Massey
Baroness Meacher
Baroness Sue Miller
Baroness Murphy
Baroness Neuberger
Baroness O'Loan
Baroness O'Neill
Baroness Oppenheim-Barnes
Baroness Stern
Baroness Celia Thomas
Baroness Uddin
Baroness Walmsley
Baroness Wilkins
Countess Mar

The Earl of Clancarty
Lord Peter Kingsley Archer
Lord Aberdare
Lord Adebowale
Lord Alan Howarth
Lord Birt
Lord Blair
Lord Brown
Lord Crickhowell
Lord David Puttnam
Lord Dear
Lord Desai
Lord Dholakia
Lord Erroll
Lord Falconer
Lord Fink
Lord Finkelstein
Lord Garel-Jones
Lord Giddens
Lord Hannay
Lord Judd
Lord Kinnock
Lord Archie Kirkwood
Lord Lawson
Lord Layard
Lord Low
Lord MacLennan            
Lord Macdonald
Lord Mancroft
Lord Marlesford 
Lord Maxton
Lord Norton
Lord Paddick
Lord Kamlesh Patel
Lord Narendra Patel
Lord Ramsbotham
Lord Rea
Lord Richard
Lord Skidelsky
Lord Stone
Lord Taverne
Lord Teverson
Lord Turnberg
Lord Wigley
Lord Woolf
Viscount Waverley

Diane Abbott MP
Peter Bottomley MP
Tom Brake MP
Alan Brown MP
Ronnie Cowan MP
Nic Dakin MP
Thangam Debbonaire MP
Paul Flynn MP
Mary Glindon MP
Zac Goldsmith MP
Louise Haigh MP
Christine Jardine MP
Diana Johnson MP
Caroline Lucas MP
Clive Lewis MP
John Mann MP
Christina Rees MP
Jeff Smith MP
Dr Philippa Whitford MP

The All-Party Parliamentary Group for Drug Policy Reform has received financial assistance from the Open Society Fund and the AB Charitable Trust. Frank Warburton Consultancy acts as the Group's secretariat.

This website has been set up with the very welcome assistance of Paul Abbot, a researcher at the House